How do I apply for a commercial dispensary, manufacturing, or cultivation license?
Answer: The Department of Health and Senior Services has closed the application process for these license types: dispensary, manufacturing, lab testing, and cultivation. DHSS has opted to follow the constitutionally mandated minimum number of licenses specified in Missouri’s Constitution Article XIV: 192 medical marijuana dispensaries, 60 commercial cultivation facilities, and 86 manufacturing facilities. It is unknown when DHSS will respond to the increasing number of medical marijuana patients or an increase in Missouri’s 2020 census count to allow additional licenses.
Transportation and seed to sale applications are the only facility applications that are currently open. The Department will accept these indefinitely. The Department will award or deny the certification within 150 days of a complete application’s submission.
How do I get a job in Missouri’s medical marijuana industry?
Answer: Any employee of a medical marijuana facility who will have access to medical marijuana or the medical marijuana facility, must complete an application through DHSS and submit fingerprints for a criminal record check to receive a Facility License ID card. A disqualifying felony offense would prohibit an applicant from working in a medical marijuana facility, but a marijuana-related felony may not disqualify you. Contact DHSS for more information. You do not need a Facility License ID to interview with a potential employer, but you must have a valid Facility License ID card to start employment.
Is there a minimum age requirement for employees to work in a licensed medical marijuana facility?
Answer: No. The Department has no specific minimum age requirement for Facility Agents. Facility employment is subject to the same generally applicable employee age restrictions in Missouri.
Can I work as a contractor for a medical marijuana facility?
Answer: All individuals who need an agent ID card per rule, including contractors, should begin applying for their cards once the commencement inspection has been scheduled. Working in a legally operating medical marijuana facility requires a Facility Agent ID card. Prior to the commencement date there are no ID requirements.
Can I open a “cannabis lounge” and allow marijuana consumption on premises?
Answer: Consumption of marijuana in a publicly accessible business is not legal. Per 19 CSR 30-95.030, no qualifying patient shall consume marijuana for medical use in a public place, unless provided by law. 19 CSR 30-95.010 defines a public place as any public or private property, or portion of public or private property, that is open to the general public, including but not limited to, sidewalks, streets, bridges, parks, schools and businesses. See 19 CSR 30-95.010(33) for more information.
Do dispensaries track me when I purchase medical marijuana?
Answer: Under Article XIV, an individual may not purchase more than 4.0 ounces of medical marijuana, or its equivalent in concentrates or edible products in a 30-day period, unless lareger amounts are specified by at least two physicians. DHSS has implemented a seed-to-sale tracking system with Metrc to ensure no medical marijuana patient can exceed this monthly limit. Any medical marijuana dispensary is required to check your valid patient ID so that you cannot exceed your monthly purchase limit.
Can patients create their own extractions at home?
Answer: Patients are allowed to create their own extractions at home as long as no combustible gases or other dangerous materials are being used to create the extract pursuant to 19 CSR 30-95.030(3)(B)1.I.
Are dispensary budtenders allowed to accept tips?
Answer: The Department does not prohibit or endorse tipping budtenders, so it is up to the facility to determine if tipping a budtender is appropriate.
Can I open and operate a CDB retail store?
The Department is responsible for administering the Missouri Medical Marijuana Regulatory Program pursuant to Article XIV of the Missouri Constitution, however that article does not change current civil and criminal laws governing the use of marijuana for nonmedical purposes. The following Missouri statutes provide that certain cannabis materials, with express exceptions, are controlled substances, and provide penalties for possession or control of controlled substances: RSMo. 579.015, 195.010(28), 195.017(4)(w), 195.017(4)(ee) and 195.017(11). Because the Department is not responsible for enforcement of the State’s penal statutes, and because CBD products can vary widely in their origin and ingredients, the Department cannot opine as to whether any particular CBD product is a controlled substance under the foregoing statutes.